Burst is busted?

• Few days back I was reading this article at coindesk.com. The creator of Bit-Torrent, @bramcohen was 'proposing' the Proof of Space because Proof of Work was a waste. In the article there wasn't any mention of Burstcoin, but there was a mention of a new white paper of SpaceMint, by one of the guy for the Proof of Space white paper.

I've read the SpaceMint whitepaper, in there it was said that

In terms of efficiency, a major issue with Burstcoin is that a constant fraction (0.024%) of dedicated disk space must be read every time a block is mined. In contrast, SpaceMint requires accessing only logarithmically many blocks in the size of dedicated space. For instance, at 1TB, Burstcoin reads 24GB, while SpaceMint reads 24 MB. Finally, verification in Burstcoin is also problematic: a miner has to hash over 8 million blocks to verify another miner’s claim.

As a complete noob that only started mining a month ago, I'm confused on this technical details. So my question is to the Developer, please explain this to me like I'm five because I'm like mining in the pool, then learned that there's more profitable pool to mine I just switched pool. My question is: Is that 'inefficiency' a real problem?

aBustt

I don't know if Burstcoin is a bust or not, since I'm still new. But, from my short experience in trying other alt-coin, Burst is the easiest to obtain and traded with other top 10 cryptos on the exchange. IMHO, someone should enlighten Bram on Burst.

• admin

@headsink His numbers are totally wrong. During mining the miner reads 1 of 4096 scoops in each nonce. So, for 1TB, divide by 4096 and you'll find it actually reads 268MB per TB. If it was really reading 24GB/TB then how could I possibly be mining 50TB in less than 1 minute?

I'm pretty sure the 8 million block comment is totally incorrect, but I'll let someone more familiar with the internal details comment.